Add topic
From Looney Pyramid Games Wiki

Martianopoly Mayhem! question: Dig "Pay Fine: Pay one pyramid (of any size or color) to a corner space." Do you mean to say that any piece is placed to a corner space (as in, if it is blank a new piece is placed there, and if there is a building already, a new layer is added?). Or, did you mean "next to a corner space?" which would be where payments are made when there are ties. We played the former, with the rule that, if a building was started, a new level was added (of the next size, and the same color).

I'm thinking that you meant the latter and not our odd literal reading. The brings up another question I had from the original rules. How did you (Carthoris or anyone else) read the rule to "place your payment on any outside corner of the chessboard." It sounded to me like it was intended that anyone landing on the corresponding corner piece would collect any pieces that are left next to that space. However, that is not stated in the rules and the idea of this type of "Free Parking" variant of Monopoly is not an official part of the game. In any case, the original rules don't specify.

Also, the "Tip" rule could use a little clarification. Obviously, any piece that is the top piece of any tree (be it small, medium, or large) can be taken. However, if taking from another player, did you intend a size restriction? I'm guess any pyramid from the other player? In any case, that situation did not come up during the game we played. --nihilvor 06:42, 19 March 2012 (UTC)

Wrt DIG, I did intend the latter (I'll tweak it). Pay it to the one of the usual squares for ties. The "outside corner" makes sense if you play with the original rules, so that the properties form a 4x4 square and the track is 6x6. That makes the "outside corner" a corner of the 8x8 board. I wrote "corner square" because if you use the larger variant I prefer (6x6 properties with 8x8 track), then ties and fines are paid to the "inside corners."
The "Free Parking" aspect is in the original Martianopoly rules: "On a corner space = Take a piece from the corner and place it in front of you." That doesn't mean the corner property, but the corner "bankspace" as it were. (Corner properties are covered by the rules for trees, empty spaces, and buildings, and are orthogonally "next to" two non-corner track spaces.
I'll ponder the TIP rule and clarify. Thanks! --Carthoris 12:48, 19 March 2012 (UTC)
In our case, the bank rule caused a debate between players in our group between who use the unofficial Free Parking rule in normal Monopoly and those who don't.
Yes, we read the original as simply stipulating the difference between being "next to" the corner and being diagonally a space away from it. We had counted all three spaces as being next to a corner space. Your reading makes more sense though. The only space that corresponds to a given bank space then is the corner space; that's when you would collect a pice. The original rules could be clearer if the rules clarified "a bank space" as opposed to "piece from the corner." We'll see how that works.
Your wording on the "tip" rule looks good. --nihilvor 19:43, 19 March 2012 (UTC)